,
Message sent from:
 

IPC PROJECT FOR Spring 2 : Buildings

  • In history :

    We will know:

    • About buildings from the past and how people used them.
    • About the key features of a castle.
    • Historical buildings in our local environment and how they have changed. 

    We will be developing our understanding of:

    • The Great Fire of London and its impact on our city.
  • In art:

    We will know:

    • Lots about the properties of materials.
    • The aspects of a room.

    We will be developing our understanding of:

    • Planning, designing and making something.
  • In International:

    We will know:

    • The names and designs of homes from around the world.

    We will be developing our understanding of:

    • How aspects of a country (weather, geography) and/or culture affects housing. 
  • In Maths and English We will be :

    Maths :

    • Learning how to add and subtract three digit numbers vertically.
    • Counting to 100 forwards and backwards.
    • Forming numbers within 100.
    • The values of coins and making different amounts. 

    English :

    We will be learning lots of stories off by heart. We will act them out, write them out, describe key characters and settings. We will be looking at traditional tales and innovating them to create our own modern stories. 

  • important dates:
    • Monday 12th –  Friday 16th February Half-Term Holiday
    • Thursday 22nd February -  Entry Point: A local walk to observe and sketch interesting buildings.  
    • Friday 9th March - Hydra 2 Class Assembly
    • Friday 16th March - International Challenge! – Research a home from another country. Represent it however you like; a fact file, a picture, a painting, a poster...More information will be sent out nearer the deadline.
    • Wednesday 28th March - Exit Point: Building the strongest bridge only using paper!
    • Thursday 29th March Break up 2:00 pm
    • Friday 30th – Friday 13th April Easter Holiday         
    • Monday 16th April School re-starts
    • Tuesday 24th April - Class Photographs
    • Friday 4th May - Hydra 1 Class Assembly
    • Friday 18th May - GDF Disco         
    • Friday 25th May - Break up for Half Term      
    • Monday 28th May – Friday 1st June Half-Term Holiday
    • Friday 6th July - GDF Summer Fair
    • Friday 13th July - Years 1-3 / Years 4-6 Sports’ Day
    • Monday 16th July - Parents’ evening 3:30 – 5:00
    • Tuesday 17th July - Meet the new teacher 3:30 – 5:00
    • Friday 20th July - Last day of term, break up 2:00 pm

Home Learning

2 home learning tasks are set every week :

Task Given out Due Back
Mathletics Thursday Tuesday
Phonics / Spelling Thursday Tuesday
Reading Journal Friday Following Friday

Remember:

  • to read to a grown-up every day
  • practice your phonics

Dates of Project Homelearning

  • Friday 16th March - International Challenge! – Research a home from another country. Represent it however you like; a fact file, a picture, a painting, a poster... More information will be sent out nearer the deadline.

 

Things to remember

P.E is on Mondays and Tuesdays 

  • Remember to have your P.E kits in for both these days (including plimsoles).
  • Make sure you have leggings or tracksuit bottoms as we will be outside for P.E unless it is raining.
  • PE kits should be in school at all times.

Can You Help?

Do you have knowledge or resources about our project?

Could you give some time to come in to class to help with reading?

Messages from the Staff

You can speak to any member of the Year 1 Team at the end of the school day once all the childrens are dismissed. 

X
Hit enter to search